

The California Broadband Council (CBC) was established by SB 1462 (Chapter 338, Statutes of 2010) to promote broadband deployment in unserved and underserved areas of the state as defined by the California Public Utilities Commission, and broadband adoption throughout the state.

The Council identifies state resources, encourages public and private partnerships, and recommends policy to provide high speed internet access throughout California.

The 12-member CBC is supported by the California Department of Technology's Office of Broadband and Digital Literacy.

Duties

The duties of the California Broadband Council include:

- Ensuring communication among state agencies regarding California's participation in proceedings related to the National Broadband Plan released by the Federal Communications Commission.
- Ensuring state agencies share all relevant information in order to maximize California's opportunities for federal and private funding for broadband deployment and adoption.
- Ensuring all relevant state agencies are aware of actions necessary to fully implement recommendations in the 2020 Broadband for All Action Plan.
- Identifying opportunities for state agencies and state broadband networks to share facilities, rights-of-way, or other resources related to broadband deployment and adoption.
- Taking other actions to ensure that state agencies are coordinating efforts and resources to promote broadband deployment and adoption.

http://broadbandcouncil.ca.gov

Meetings

Please check the California Broadband Council website for meeting logistics.

Members

Director of Department of Technology, Liana Bailey-Crimmins, Chair

Member of CA State Senate Steven Bradford

Member of the Assembly Mike A.Gipson

Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond

President of California Public Utilities Commission Alice Reynolds

Director of California Governor's Office of Emergency Services Nancy Ward

Director of Department of General Services Ana Lasso

Secretary of Transportation Toks Omishakin

State Librarian Greg Lucas

Secretary of Food and Agriculture Karen Ross

Secretary of Tribal Affairs Christina Snider-Ashtari

President of California Emerging Technology Fund Sunne Wright McPeak