

The California Broadband Council (CBC) was established by SB 1462 (Chapter 338, Statutes of 2010) to promote broadband deployment in unserved and underserved areas of the state as defined by the California Public Utilities Commission, and broadband adoption throughout the state.

The Council identifies state resources, encourages public and private partnerships, and recommends policy to provide high speed internet access throughout California.

The 12-member CBC is supported by the California Department of Technology's Office of Broadband and Digital Literacy.

Duties

The duties of the California Broadband Council include:

- Ensuring communication among state agencies regarding California's participation in proceedings related to the National Broadband Plan released by the Federal Communications Commission.
- Ensuring state agencies share all relevant information in order to maximize California's opportunities for federal and private funding for broadband deployment and adoption.
- Ensuring all relevant state agencies are aware of actions necessary to fully implement recommendations in the 2008 Broadband Task Force Report.
- Identifying opportunities for state agencies and state broadband networks to share facilities, rights-of-way, or other resources related to broadband deployment and adoption.
- Taking other actions to ensure that state agencies are coordinating efforts and resources to promote broadband deployment and adoption.

http://broadbandcouncil.ca.gov

Meetings

Please check the California Broadband Council website for meeting logistics.

Members

Department of Technology, Director Amy Tong, Chair

Member, CA State Senate Ben Hueso, Vice-Chair

California Public Utilities Commission, President Marybel Batjer

California Governor's Office of Emergency Services, Director Mark Ghilarducci

California Department of Education, State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond

Department of General Services, Director Daniel Kim

California State Transportation Agency, Secretary David Kim

California Emerging Technology Fund, President Sunne Wright McPeak

California Department of Food and Agriculture, Secretary Karen Ross

State Librarian Greg Lucas

Governor's Tribal Advisor Christina Snider

Member, CA State Assembly Mike Gipson